Rather shocking turn of events, eh DSK?

Quite the turnaround for former IMF head Dominque Strauss Kahn. The Guardian said it best:

“Strauss-Kahn was freed from house arrest and had his bail dropped, as it emerged that investigators had discovered his accuser, a 32-year-old Guinean-born maid, had lied about a previous rape claim.

They also uncovered evidence that appeared to cast doubt on key elements of her account, and seemed likely to do deep damage to her credibility as a witness.”

Perhaps, like us, you are wondering just what the hell happened here. Well… essentially, the prosecutors were the ones to halt a much-anticipated showdown in court, after the victim “lied repeatedly” in her dealings with them.

First off, the maid apparently lied about being gang-raped in her home country in order to find political asylum in the U.S. Secondly, her recollection of the events following the attack hasn’t exactly been consistent. But most damagingly:

“The New York Times has also reported that police have tape recorded a telephone conversation between the woman and a man in prison on the day of the alleged rape in which she talked about the possible financial benefits that could come to her as a result of pursuing charges.

The investigation also found deposits made into her bank account totalling $100,000 (£60,000) over the last two years, some of which came from the man, a convicted drug dealer.”

So what happens now?

Strauss Kahn is effectively free from house arrest, and can travel anywhere within the U.S., although his passport has not been returned.

And political activists in France are arguing that the maid’s case still stands, despite any discrepencies with her story or history.

Global Spin had this to say:

The rough and tumble sparring over what now happens to DSK legally will not extend much beyond the limits of Manhattan. But back in France, the social and gender lessons of Friday’s development are already being noted. Early in the day, when Green Party leader Cécile Duflot was asked by France Info radio for her reaction to the news, she avoided the already surging media excitation and multiplying forecasts of what might come next by keeping firmly focused on what the case should be about. “I just want to see justice done,” Duflot said. “I want to see justice for the victim, and I want to see justice for Dominique Strauss-Kahn. That’s all.” Despite the soft delivery, her message was clear: forget all the theatrics, and focus on whether a crime against the victim took place–or not.”

So what do you think? Is Strauss Kahn innocent, or did someone simply dig up enough dirt on the alleged victim to free him from prosecution?

Read more about French politicians in the latest issue of the Carnet Atlantique.

 

This entry was posted in France, Politics, US and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rather shocking turn of events, eh DSK?

  1. ACN says:

    The fact that naked DSK raped the maid is not being questioned and the facts are held up against him. That disqualifies him for any serious job, no matter what his male chauvinist political friends say in France who feel that such behaviour is excusable.
    DSK has lost his credibility and together with him the whole political establishment who seeks to launder this appaling behaviour. As a Frenchman I feel ashamed again and again.

  2. jimmy says:

    Partial thinking on very serious matters like this is inacceptable. Please let’s re-think and put the whole case in it’s proper dimension. Is it not shocking for a room-maid to call her boyfiriend in jail
    to talk to him about making a lot of money on the head of DSK ? What kind of evidence do you need again to condemn this woman, whom the whole knows she using the tiltle of a room maid to cover -up her nasty deals.

  3. carol says:

    Let Mister Strauss Khan be free.that woman is a lyer.

  4. michel berthier says:

    Monsieur STRAUSS KAHN et Anne SINCLAIR, j’ai suivi, par la force des choses « votre affaire », j’en ai été attristé, et je prends la liberté aujourd’hui de vous adresser mon soutien à tous les deux.
    Loin de moi l’idée d’émettre une opinion ou de porter un jugement sur le comportement de l’un ou de l’autre ; je ne connais rien à la politique ni aux finances ; le rôle que j’ai joué dans notre société a été « médical » .
    M Strauss Kahn, le vôtre a suscité mon admiration, tant dans la politique q ‘aux finances internationales , bravo ; une majorité de français vous attendait pour diriger notre pays.
    Comment auriez vous pu prendre un risque quelconque avant cet « appel » aux commandes de la France ? Tout de même, je crois à un coup monté !
    J’admire dans cette histoire : votre courage, votre dignité, ainsi que le soutien de votre épouse. Sachez que vous avez également le mien ; dans ces moments là un peu de réconfort est important.
    Et cette « Tristane BANON » que vient elle aussi nous jouer aujourd’hui ? Le vase déborde !!
    Eh non, je ne parle pas des « victimes » : des bonnes femmes à la soif de publicité et d’argent n’est ce pas ? C’est ce que je crois ! Même si vous « avez un faible pour les femmes » … et alors la belle affaire, vous n’êtes pas le seul, et quelle importance ! On ne va pas en faire une affaire d’état, et personnellement je m’en moque et je ne porte aucun jugement là-dessus.
    Moi aussi, j’ai été victime, comme vous, d’une patiente : profil 1,60m , 130 kg, salle et malodorante, qui s’est présentée 4 fois à mon cabinet … et que j’aurais violée 4 fois !!! Comme un autre confrère d’ailleurs ! Qui l’eut cru ? En tout cas la justice n’y a pas cru, mais le Conseil de l’Ordre a accrédité cette cinglée … et m’a interdit d’exercer mon métier , malgré un appel.
    Du jour au lendemain je me retrouve humilié, mis au ban de la société, sans ressources et sans aide, ayant perdu mon métier que j’aimais et pour lequel je me suis dévoué sans compter toute ma vie, avec sérieux et RESPECT des patients …qui dans leur intégralité m’ont apporté leur soutien, ainsi que les médecins.
    M Strauss Kahn, je comprends votre situation , j’admire encore une fois le soutien que vous prodigue votre femme, et j’espère qu’une issue favorable dénouera cette sale affaire qui a brisé votre vie, comme pour moi ; vous avez la chance et les moyens de bénéficier d’avocats puissants et efficaces , moi pas , et c’est tant mieux pour vous, heureusement. Peut être qu’un jour vous pourrez de nouveau servir votre pays en toute dignité, et faire fi de tous ces crétins qui vous jugent sans connaître nullement la réalité des faits qui ne nous concernent pas .
    Encore tout mon soutien à vous et à votre femme, et avec mon plus grand respect.
    Un modeste citoyen français, Michel B. (eagle.p@wanadoo.fr)
    PS si vous me répondez je peux sans problème vous communiquer mes références complètes

    • CB AtAmO says:

      Il s’est passé quelque chose de facheux dans cette suite du Sofitel et on ne saura pas la vérité avant longtemps ; de cet évènement découlent la fin de la carrière politique de DSK et la honte sur les politiciens européens.. Heureusement, la nomination de Mme Lagarde au Fmi estompe quelque peu le sentiment amer des Français.
      Après nous verrons bien si la justice des USA condamnera ou pas DSK, et si il sera poursuivi au civil..
      S’ajoute alors l’affaire Banon ! Elle on la connaît, c’est une “bimbo” et on sait ce dont les “bimbos” sont capables ! no comment …

Leave a Reply

